Justice Ernest Yao, three other nominees to face Appointments Committee today

Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu

The Appointment Committee of Parliament is scheduled to today, 18th October 2022, vet the four persons nominated by President Akufo-Addo to join the esteemed bench of the Apex Court.

Parliament’s public affairs directorate revealed this procedure for today through a statement.

Justice Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu, Justice of the Court of Appeal; Mr Justice George Kingsley Koomson, Justice of the Court of Appeal; Mr Justice Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu, Justice of the Court of Appeal; and Mr Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu, Justice of the High Court are the four nominees who would go through the parliamentary procedure today.

President Akufo-Addo nominated the four justices in July 2022 to join the Supreme Court’s bench. These nominations are to make up for the imminent vacancies that would be created on the apex court bench by retiring justices.

The nominations were referred to the Appointments Committee to carry out their vetting task after Speaker of Parliament Alban Bagbin announced the presidency’s decision.

Organizations and persons with interest in these nominations are advised to send memoranda concerning the nominations to the Clerk of the Appointment Committee to be addressed.


Comment Here...

%d bloggers like this: