Black Stars provisional squad for 2022 African Cup of Nations

Black Stars squad picture

Ghana Senior National Male team coach Milovan Rajevac has named a provisional 30-man squad for the 2022 African Cup of Nations in Cameroon. The squad which was released today had new names among the list as well as some of the already known names maintaining their place in the squad.

Notable from the domestic league Maxwell Abbey Quaye of Accra Great Olympics and David Abagna of Real Tamale United. The two have been in scintillating form this season for their clubs especially Abagna who swapped Obuasi for Tamale this season and has scored eight goals for RTU.

Other debutants in the squad are Khlaid Abdul Mumin of Vitoria de Guimaraes and Salis Abdul Samed of French Ligue 1 side Clermont Foot. The two join Maxwell Abbey and David Abagna as the only debutants in the squad.

Thomas Partey who missed the last world cup qualifying match against South Africa has been included in the squad following his return to action for Arsenal in the last few weeks. A big omission is Richard Ofori, who has not featured for Ghana since the return of Milovan following the sacking of C.K Akonnor. he is carrying an injury that will likely hamper his preparation and participation in the tournament, thus his omission.

Edmund Addo of Sheriff Tiraspol and AS Roma’s Felix Afena-Gyan have both been included in the squad.

The Black Stars will camp in Doha, Qatar from tomorrow, Wednesday, December 22 2021 in preparation for the tournament in early next year. They will play Algeria in a friendly match while talks are also reportedly ongoing to get the other two opponents for a test match ahead of the tournament.

See the full list below.

Goalkeepers: Joseph Wollacott (Swindon Town), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen), Richard Attah (Hearts of Oak), Lawrence Ati Zigi (St. Gallen).

Defenders: Andy Yiadom (Reading FC), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC), Gideon Mensah (Girondins Bordeaux), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Khalid Abdul Mumin (Vitoria de Guimaraes).

Midfielders: Baba Iddrissu (Real Mallorca), Edmund Addo (Sherif Tiraspol), Thomas Teye Partey (Arsenal FC), Mubarak Wakaso (Shenzhen FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Daniel Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli), David Abagna (Real Tamale United), Salis Abdul Samed (Clermont Foot).

Wingers: Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Dreams FC), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha), Kamal Deen Suleymana (Rennes FC), Dede Ayew (Al Sadd SC), Joseph Paintsil (Genk).

Strikers: Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Beitar Jerusalem), Maxwell Abbey Quaye (Great Olympics), Felix Afena Gyan (AS Roma), Benjamin Tetteh (Malatyaspor).

Black Stars provisional squad for 2022 AFCON

By: Clifford Adumbire |


Comment Here...