Akonnor Names Final Squad For AFCON Qualifiers


Head Coach of the senior national male football team, C.K Akonnor has released the final list of players for the AFCON qualifiers this month. The gaffer has blended both local and foreign based stars in his latest squad.

The 29-man squad has a blend of new and old players. Notable absentees are the Ayew brothers who are missing largely due to Covid-19 travel restrictions rather than performance. Skipper Andrew Ayew and Crystal Palace attacker, Jordan Ayew will both miss the double header. Also absent is John Boye who has being in sensational form for Ligue 1 side FC Metz.

Black Satellites stars Danlad Ibrahim, Philemon Baffuor and Abdul Fatawu Issahaku have been rewarded for their excellence at the U-20 AFCON in Mauritius. Also in the squad are Hamburger SV’s Stephen Ambrosius, OH Leuven’s Kamal Sowah and Kwasi Okyere Wriedt of Willem II. The rest are Emmanuel Gyasi of Spezia FC, Kwame Afriyie Poku of Colchester United and Osman Bukari of Gent.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates – South Africa), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko – Ghana), Eric Ofori Antwi (Medeama SC – Ghana), Danlad Ibrahim (Asante Kotoko- Ghana)

Full Backs: Baba Abdul Rahman (PAOK – Greece), Gideon Mensah (Vitória de Guimarães – Portugal), Benson Annan (MLK Zilina – Slovakia), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC – Ghana)

Central Defenders: Nicholas Opoku (Amiens SC – France), Kasim Nuhu (1899 Hoffenheim – Germany), Ganiyu Ismael (Asante Kotoko – Ghana), Stephen Ambrosius (Hamburger SV – Germany)

Central Midfield: Kudus Mohammed (Ajax Amsterdam – Holland), Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Suning F.C – China), Afriyie Acquah (Yeni Malatyaspor – Turkey), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens SC – France), Iddrisu Baba (RCD Mallorca – Spain), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics -Ghana), Kwame Afriyie Poku (Colchester United – England)

Left Attacking Midfield: Osman Bukari (Gent – Belgium), Joseph Esso (Dreams FC- Ghana)

Right Attacking Midfield: Kamal Sowah (OH Leuven- Belgium), Fatawu Issahaku (Steadfast FC – Ghana)

Attackers: Emmanuel Boateng (Dalian Professional- China), Emmanuel Gyasi (Spezia – Italy), Kwame Opoku (Asante Kotoko – Ghana), John Antwi (Pyramids FC – Egypt), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt (Willem II – Holland), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor – Turkey)

Black Stars Squad to face South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe in AFCON qualifier.
Black Stars Squad to face South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe in AFCON qualifier.

The Black Stars who lead group C with 9 points will take on South Africa on 25th March in Johannesburg before rounding up at home with Sao Tome and Principe on 29th March at the Accra Sports Stadium.

Credit: GFA

By: Clifford Adumbire | myactiveonline.com


Comment Here...