Bagbin Bemoans Parliament’s Security Systems

Alban Bagbin

Speaker of Parliament, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, is not enthused with the security situation in Ghana’s Parliament. The Speaker says the issue compromises the security situation in the legislative house.

Speaking at the inauguration of the Parliamentary Service Board, Alban Bagbin said the security of Parliament must be looked at again.

“We have no control over the coming in and going out of the premises by strangers and this compromises the security of Parliament and its members and there have been numerous instances of break-in and thefts.”

Members of the Parliamentary Service Board being sworn into office
Members of the Parliamentary Service Board being sworn into office

In 2018, there was an attempted suicide by a man, believed to be 35 years, in the chamber. The man, who tried to end his life was said to have requested to see the MP for Kwesimintsim, Joseph Mensah who was not readily available to meet him.

The unfortunate incident was averted by the security in Parliament and the man was later whisked away by the police. Parliament in a statement subsequently urged citizens who want to observe proceedings in the public gallery to comply with the rules governing attendance in the House.

Alban Bagbin also charged members of the 8th Parliamentary Service Board to work to enhance among other departments, the Drafting Unit of the Parliamentary Service, to be able to support Members of Parliament to initiate Private Members’ Bills.

Article 124 (2) of the 1992 Constitution states that: there shall be a Parliamentary Service Board which shall consist of the Speaker as Chairman, four other members all of whom shall be appointed by the Speaker, acting in accordance with advice of a Committee of Parliament and the Clerk to Parliament.

The board, which is chaired by the Speaker, has the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Leader of Government Business, Mr Osei Kyei Mensah-Bonsu; the Minority Leader, Mr Haruna Iddrisu; former New Patriotic Party (NPP) Member of Parliament and former Majority Leader, Mr Abraham Ossei Aidoo, Mr Johnson Asiedu-Nketiah, as well as the Clerk to Parliament, Mr Cyril Nsiah, as members.

The appointment of the six-member board followed a recommendation by the Advisory Committee of Parliament to the Speaker.

By: Stella Annan | Twitter @activetvgh


Comment Here...